2017 Summer Assignments

2017 summer assignments listed by course

One Book: A Long Way Home (Lion) by Saroo Brierly

Each year, the Chantilly HS community reads one book together. We are reading A Long Way Home, also released under the title Lion, by Saroo Brierly. All staff and students are required to read this book before returning to school for the 17-18 school year.

There are a limited number of copies of this book available for checkout in the main office.  Summer office hours are 9am-1pm.   

Summer assignments can be found on FCPS 24-7/Blackboard.

  • Blackboard will be unavailable from June 22-June 28th.
  • Log in with your username and password.
  • Click Classes at the top.
  • Search for a class called CHS 17-18 Summer Assignments.
  • Click the drop down arrow by the name of the course and choose Enroll. Click Submit.
  • You will find the assignments under the button "Summer Assignments"

  *If you are a new FCPS student, you will receive a blackboard account after August 7th during laptop distribution. If you need to access your summer assignment before that date, please email the teacher contact listed below for your course.

AP Courses

AP Biology Karen Molloy | kcmolloy@fcps.edu
AP Calculus AB Christina Prishack | clprishack@fcps.edu
AP Calculus BC Christina Prishack | clprishack@fcps.edu
AP Chemistry Ina Koppel | irkoppel@fcps.edu
AP Comparative Government John Downes | jedownes@fcps.edu
AP Computer Science Principles no assignment
AP Computer Science no assignment
AP English Language Matt Hendricks | mjhendricks@fcps.edu
AP English Literature Nikki Lehman | nmlehman@fcps.edu
AP Environmental Science Anne Fenton | amfenton@fcps.edu
AP French Language and Culture  Elaine Gonzalez | ecgonzalez@fcps.edu
AP Human Geography  John Downes | jedownes@fcps.edu
AP Macroeconomics  no assignment
AP Microeconomics   no assignment
AP Music Theory  no assignment
AP Physics I  no assignment
AP Physics 2 no assignment
AP Physics C: Mechanics   no assignment
AP Psychology   no assignment
AP Spanish Language and Culture Elaine Gonzalez | ecgonzalez@fcps.edu
AP Music Theory  no assignment
AP Statistics   no assignment
AP United States Government/Politics  John Downes | jedownes@fcps.edu
AP United States History John Downes | jedownes@fcps.edu
AP World History/World Civ   John Downes | jedownes@fcps.edu

Honors Courses

World History I Honors no assignment
World History II Honors no assignment
US/VA History Honors no assignment
Government Honors no assignment
World Civ 1 Mara Palen | mkpalen@fcps.edu
World Civ 2 Lucy Voorhees | lbvoorhees@fcps.edu
Algebra 2 Honors Christina Prishack | clprishack@fcps.edu
Geometry Honors Christina Prishack | clprishack@fcps.edu
Precalculus Honors Christina Prishack | clprishack@fcps.edu
English 9 Honors Mara Palen | mkpalen@fcps.edu
English 10 Honors Lucy Voorhees | lbvoorhees@fcps.edu
English 11 Honors Matt Hendricks | mjhendricks@fcps.edu
English 12 Honors Nikki Lehman | nmlehman@fcps.edu
Honors Biology no assignment
French 3, 4 no assignment
German 3, 4 no assignment
Spanish 4 Elaine Gonzalez | ecgonzalez@fcps.edu